top of page

The Richard R. Lillie, FAICP Program for Planning Excellence

The Texas Chapter of the American Planning Association continues its program of recognizing planning excellence in municipalities throughout the State.  Evaluation criteria include the level of training of Planning Commissioners and professional staff, professional qualifications of the planning staff, breadth and currency of master plan components and completion of other planning related projects. The goals of the program include:

  • Increasing community awareness of the importance of planning,

  • Recognizing planning departments which meet certain professional requirements,

  • Recognizing planning efforts that have achieved community support,

  • Encouraging the funding of professional training for Planning Commissioners and staff, and

  • Aiding economic development and community image.

In 2019, we transitioned completely to an election submittal and payment format. Please complete the form below and use the payment/submit button below to complete the application process.

Beginning in 2023, the Chapter will be providing recipients with a plaque that allows for the display of yearly plates. The submittal fee reflects the cost for the initial plaque. The fee structure will be updated next year to differentiate first time and repeat award winners.


$100 submission fee can be paid below or by contacting Chelsea Irby at

Dick Lillie_edited.jpg

Richard Ransom Lillie, FAICP

Applications are due June 23, 2023 by 11:59pm. 

Program Contact: Mike McAnelly, FAICP 

Program Contact: Chelsea Irby, AICP 

bottom of page